Welcome to my turf

I dream a dream

Posted on: May 22, 2010

If there was one thing I’d like to be other than a lawyer, I’d like to be a full time ballerina–or at least until I become bored, tired and old to do it. When I was growing up, I thought that it was just a hobby because academics were always my priority. But every time I see people dance (either live or in Youtube), I feel a little envious and wish that I was also performing out there. However, ballet is such an expensive sport and it requires dedication and 100% focus and attention. With the little time I have for myself, I can’t afford to lose some of it to dancing. And if we can’t give our 100%, it feels like we’re robbing the audience of their precious time.

My primary motivation for dancing ballet when I was a kid was to have a tiara. I never stopped until I got one–and when I finally had one, I still continued dancing. And then when I was old enough (and hopefully graceful and pretty dancer haha), I was given roles and they really thrilled me. It made me do things I wouldn’t normally do. Like 32 counts of fouettes!

Black Swan (Odile) in Swan Lake was my dream role. I said to myself that if I get to do it, I’d be happily retiring my dancing feet. But after actually performing it three years ago, I realized I was yearning for more dance pieces. For tougher, stronger ones. I think I was ready to “transcend” to another level!

But sad thing is, I can’t. Because of law school.

I guess it’s the price I have to pay for wanting to be a lawyer more than a dancer.

Leave a Reply

